Daddy Long Legs!

Daddy Long Legs!
Jerusha Abbott has spent her entire eighteen years in an orphanage.
Now a wealthy trustee of the home has offered to put her through college, and all he asks in return is that she write him one letter per month, addressed to “Mr. John Smith,” to which he will never reply.
She will never meet her benefactor, or even know his name.
*This story writing by Jean Webster, I think it is beautiful story.
*This is one of her letter to Daddy Long Legs, that I like it.
———————-
To Mr. Daddy Long Legs Smith
Dear Daddy Long Legs,
I love college and I love you for sending me.
I’m very, very happy, and so excited every moment of the time that I can scarcely sleep.
You can’t imagine how different it is from the John Grier Home. I never dreamed there was such a place in the world. I’m feeling sorry for everybody who isn’t a girl and who can’t come here; I am sure the college you attended when you were a boy couldn’t have been so nice.
My room is up in a tower that used to be the contagious ward before they built the new infirmary. There are three other girls on the same floor of the tower a Senior who wears spectacles and is always asking us please to be a little more quiet, and two Freshmen named Sallie McBride and Julia Rutledge Pendleton. Sallie has red hair and a turn-up nose and is quite friendly; Julia comes from one of the first families in New York and hasn’t noticed me yet. They room together and the Senior and I have singles.
Usually Freshmen can’t get singles; they are very scarce, but I got one without even asking.
I suppose the registrar didn’t think it would be right to ask a properly brought-up girl to room with a foundling. You see there are advantages!
My room is on the north-west corner with two windows and a view. After you’ve lived in a ward for eighteen years with twenty room-mates, it is restful to be alone. This is the first chance I’ve ever had to get acquainted with Jerusha Abbott. I think I’m going to like her.
Do you think you are?
Yours always, Jerusha Abbott
PS. (9 o’clock.)
Sallie McBride just poked her head in at my door. This is what she said: “I’m so homesick that I simply can’t stand it. Do you feel that way?” I smiled a little and said no; I thought I could pull through. At least homesickness is one disease that I’ve escaped! I never heard of anybody being asylum-sick, did you?
* * * *
Sallie is the most entertaining person in the world and Julia Rutledge Pendleton the least so. It’s queer what a mixture the registrar can make in the matter of room-mates. Sallie thinks everything is funny–even flunking–and Julia is bored at everything. She never makes the slightest effort to be amiable. She believes that if you are a Pendleton, that fact alone admits you to heaven without any further examination. Julia and I were born to be enemies.
And now I suppose you’ve been waiting very impatiently to hear what I am learning?
1.Latin: Second Punic war. Hannibal and his forces pitched camp at Lake Trasimenus last night. They prepared an ambuscade for the Romans, and a battle took place at the fourth watch this morning. Romans in retreat.
2.French: 24 pages of the Three Musketeers and third conjugation, irregular verbs.
3.Geometry: Finished cylinders; now doing cones.
4.English: Studying exposition. My style improves daily in clearness and brevity.
5.Physiology: Reached the digestive system. Bile and the pancreas next time.
Yours, on the way to being educated,
Jerusha Abbott
PS. I hope you never touch alcohol, Daddy It does dreadful things to your liver.

15 Comments

  1. sara said,

    September 30, 2007 at 10:46 am

    Wish I can watch this cartoon series all the way to the end.. Never did😦

    It’s my favourite!

    With respect,

  2. chriz said,

    January 26, 2008 at 1:09 am

    i already watched this series in our country Philippines…
    its has a cute story….
    i hope i could watch it again…
    i luv juddy abbott’s attitude..🙂
    so long..

  3. Judy abbott said,

    April 17, 2008 at 6:43 am

    dear friend
    i love judy as you
    thanks alot for your blog
    my caracter is as judy
    i love Judy
    best regards
    Judy( Samira )

  4. minoo said,

    May 3, 2008 at 10:00 am

    hi friends!

    i whatched the cartoon when i was 10 years old !
    that was my great time of childhood!

  5. Ratna Pippo said,

    June 20, 2008 at 6:16 am

    Hi,
    Daddy Long Legs was my fav. since i watched the anime when i was a child🙂
    i loved Judy Abott, she had a very strong spirit and very energetic..
    I have the collection and i watching it over and over again…

    Glad to know the fondly of Judy & Jervie fans

  6. chamie said,

    November 2, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    it was a very inspiring story.i hope there is a real judy and jervis

  7. dokhtareshahepareion said,

    January 18, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    I love juddy so much because she is free, kind and really smart. i love her because she touched life with all of its hardness and easiness. she is so much different with her freinds and she was the winner at the end. i love her as a life winner in the world.

  8. joyjung_49 said,

    February 9, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    i c this story in thailand at the long time ( about 20 years )and i like it so much and i would like juddy abbott show on tv again. i love her so much …. LoVE JUddy AbbOtT

  9. samila said,

    June 15, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    hey gyz i just wan ask u wer cn i get daz movie, ido u fink i culd find in anywer london

  10. reza said,

    June 20, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    where can i purchase dady lone legs cartoon or down load it in english

    regards
    reza

  11. samila said,

    June 21, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    does ani of u gyz knw any website so i could download daddy long legs?

    fanxxx
    sami

  12. Skyblue said,

    July 13, 2009 at 5:18 am

    Hi
    You can purchase the 6 DVDs in Iran by calling 09194935340 or 09194935341.
    Also you can order many other animations which have been shown on Iran’s TV.

    • samila said,

      July 23, 2009 at 12:55 pm

      fanx
      skyblue

      but if i did call them, do u fink how long they delivery the movie

  13. Sinagbituin said,

    July 20, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    Judy and Jervis for life🙂

    Great letter.

    We’ve been discussing about you two just this afternoon with my fellow officemates since we have just watched Korean movie inspired by your story “Daddy Long Legs”.
    Imagine, it’s been years since it was last aired in Phil. television..

    Reminiscing childhood to everlasting favorites is truly fun.
    I wonder if it was being aired in other Phil. network…haha solid kapamilya.

  14. MadiQueen said,

    December 25, 2009 at 10:08 am

    my fave of all the best. I just surf on internet and after many years i read Judy’ letter again over. tnx 4 that.


Leave a Reply

